Congratulations winners of Kraumur Music Awards 2018!

Our congratulations to the Kraumur Music Awards winners of 2018 

Auður – Afsakanir
bagdad brothers – JÆJA.
Elli Grill – Pottþétt Elli Grill
GDRN – Hvað ef
Kælan Mikla – Nótt eftir Nótt
ROHT – Iðnsamfélagið og framtíð þess

This is the 11th time that Kraumur, Aurora´s Music Fund, presents the Kraumur Music Award for Icelandic albums that are thought to have excelled during the year in terms of quality, ambitions and originality.

All types of music are considered for the short list and there are no categories. All types of releases are considered, whether it is vinyl, cd or only online.

In total 57 bands or musicians have received the Music Awards since they were first presented in 2008. Further information and a list of all receivers of the Kraumur Music Awards can be found here:  http://kraumur.is/forsida/kraumsverdlaunin/

A lot has been happening in the Icelandic music sceen during the year as the Panel reviewed 343 albums and releases in their quest to find the winners of the Kraumur Music Awards 2018.


The Kraumur Music Awards short list is chosen by a panel of 12 people that have extensive experience from the Icelandic music scene in one way or another. The panel in 2018 are made up of the following persons; Árni Matthíasson (chairman), Andrea Jónsdóttir, Anna Ásthildur Thorsteinsson, Alexandra Kjeld, Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen, Benedikt Reynisson, Birna María Másdóttir, Helga Þórey Jónsdóttir, Jóhann Ágúst Jóhannsson, Sandra Barilli, Trausti Júlíusson and Óli Dóri.